Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congresswoman Colleen Hanabusa

Representing the 1st District of Hawaii

Hanabusa, Hirono Lead Bicameral Resolution to Recognize Filipino American History Month

October 26, 2018
Press Release

Representative Colleen Hanabusa and Senator Mazie Hirono introduced a bipartisan, bicameral resolution in the United States Senate to recognize the month of October as Filipino American History Month. The resolution acknowledges the key role Filipino Americans play in shaping our country.

“Starting with the Sakada, Hawaii has long benefitted from the hard work of Filipino Americans. They fought for this country during World War II, many making the ultimate sacrifice.  We owe a lot of our local culture to Filipino contributions,” said Congresswoman Colleen Hanabusa. “Today, Filipinos are the largest ethnic group in Hawaii, and continue to help shape the professional and political landscape. We are honored to recognize and laud the rich history of Filipino American contributions to Hawaii and our great nation.”

“In Hawaii, we see the many contributions of the Filipino American community every day. They serve our country in uniform and elected office, teach our children in school, and run successful businesses,” Senator Hirono said. “During my time in public service, I have fought to honor and recognize the contributions of the Filipino Veterans of World War II, and through this resolution Congress has come together on a bipartisan basis to pay tribute to a community that has given so much to our country.”

The Senate resolution is co-sponsored by Senators Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Dean Heller (R-Nev.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.).

The House resolution is co-sponsored by Representatives Judy Chu (D-CA-27), Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI-2), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX-18), Pramila Jayapal (D-WA-7), Ro Khanna (D-CA-17), Barbara Lee (D-CA-13), Alan S. Lowenthal (D-CA-47), Jerry McNerney (D-CA-9), Grace Napolitano (D-CA-32), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC-At Large), Scott H. Peters (D-CA-52), Jacky Rosen (D-NV-3), Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (D-MP-At Large), Robert C. “Bobby” Scott (D-VA-3), Eric Swalwell (D-CA-15), Mike Thompson (D-CA-5), Juan Vargas (D-CA-51), Frederica S. Wilson (D-FL-24)