Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congresswoman Colleen Hanabusa

Representing the 1st District of Hawaii


February 6, 2017
Press Release

Washington, D.C. – Congresswoman Hanabusa joined the bipartisan Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus for the 115th Congress.  The Caucus will be Co-Chaired by six openly LGBT members of the House of Representatives:  Jared Polis (CO-02), David N. Cicilline (RI-01), Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-09), and Mark Takano (CA-41).

The mission of the Congressional LGBT Equality Caucus is to promote lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) equality. The bi-partisan LGBT Equality Caucus is strongly committed to achieving the full enjoyment of human rights for LGBT people in the U.S. and around the world. By serving as a resource for Members of Congress, their staff and the public on LGBT issues, the Caucus works toward the extension of equal rights, the repeal of discriminatory laws, the elimination of hate-motivated violence and the improved health and wellbeing for all regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity/expression.

Congresswoman Hanabusa:  I am proud to join my bipartisan colleagues in the 115th Congress in strong support of the LGBT Equality Caucus.  Not only do I pledge to stand with this community and continue the fight for equal rights, but I will support the LGBT community in the defense of the significant progress made in recent years and fight any attempt by the Trump-Pence administration to roll back the progress.